Holiday Cookie: Vegan Oatmeal Snickerdoodles

I’ve been in holiday baking mode for a couple of reasons: obviously, I love baking & love to give away homemade gifts; ALSO, I’m trying to clean out my pantry a bit. I have a smallish kitchen and I’ve loaded it full of  goodies this year while transitioning to a plant-based diet. I’ve tried out lots of things I’d never had before, & have learned a bit about the products I like to keep stocked up on (flax seed, lentils, coconut) and some that I don’t (buckwheat flour, I’m talking to YOU). Anyway, seemed like good reasons to get busy baking!

Last weekend I tried out a new cookie variety, an oatmeal snicker doodle. Sounds good right? Oatmeal cookies are delicious, snicker doodles are certainly delicious. What’s not to love here??

IMG_4984

And rightly so, I LOVE THEM!

When I made these cookies, I was also trying a product out for the first time: coconut sugar. I don’t ever use granulated sugar, and have been using liquid sweeteners for some time (maple syrup, agave), but I’ve been looking for a dry sugar to use on occasion. After a little investigation (er, I mean googling), I decided on coconut sugar. It has a low glycemic index, and is rather minimally processed compared to some of it’s counterparts.

Oatmeal Snickerdoodle Cookies

Vegan
  • 1⅓ c. oat groats*
  • 1 ⅓ c. whole-wheat pastry flour
  • 8 t. coconut sugar
  • 1 t. sea salt
  • 2 t. baking powder
  • 4 T. coconut oil
  • 2 t. vanilla
  • 6-8 T. almond milk (or any unsweetened non-dairy  milk)
  • Cinnamon-Sugar Coating: 
    • 2 t. coconut sugar
    • 1 t. cinnamon

*I used oat groats in place of oat flour used in the aforementioned recipe, because this is what I already had on hand, & frankly, I didn’t feel like getting my food processor dirty to grind them into flour. I thought the groats worked out wonderfully, but you can also use the flour, whole oats, or a combination of each!

Combine the dry ingredients (oats, sugar, salt, baking powder). Mix the wet ingredients into the dry, adding milk only as needed. The batter should be moist, but not sticky. Let the dough sit for a few minutes to allow the oats to absorb some of the moisture. Mix the sugar and cinnamon together in a small bowl.

Form tablespoonfuls of dough into balls. Roll each ball in the cinnamon/sugar mix until lightly coated on all sides. Press down on each ball to form a cookie shape. Place all of the coated cookies onto a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Bake at 380 degrees for 10 minutes.

IMG_4996

These cookies are not overly sweet; if you’re looking for a sweeter cookie, increase the amount of sugar. This is just personal preference. These cookies are also delightfully “buttery” tasting (even though there is no butter in here). I suppose it’s from the coconut oil. Because I used oat groats here instead of oat flour these are more grainy, which I happen to love.

What new recipes are you trying this holiday season?

2 thoughts on “Holiday Cookie: Vegan Oatmeal Snickerdoodles

  1. Pingback: Toasted Coconut Chocolate Chunk Cookies | Remote Control-Proof

  2. Pingback: How to Make Koeksisters of Hymie Baker | Stephen Darori on Family Recipes and Cooking

Leave a Reply

